Refer to the following instructions to restore VM running on Microsoft Hyper-V Server.
VM can be restored to the original location with the following condition:
- If the VM to be restored does not exist on the original hypervisor. The VM will be restored as a new virtual machine.
- If the VM to be restored still exist on the original hypervisor. The existing VM will be replaced by the backed up version.
Important: Virtual machine backed up with the MS VM backup module can only be restored to the original Hyper-V server.
1. Login to the backup application's user interface.
2. Select the [Restore] button and the corresponding backup set.
3. Select the virtual machines to be restored and choose [Original location] for restore files to.
Note: Select the Initial Store to restore the Authorization Manager Security (role based access control) setting
4. Click the [Start Restore] button to begin the restore process.
5. User will be prompted if a virtual machine selected to be restored exist on the hypervisor.
Important: For restore of existing virtual machine (restoring a previous version), the existing virtual machine will be removed before the restore process begin.
6. When the restore process is completed, the virtual machines will be restored to the original hypervisor.
7. Open Hyper-V Manager, click Start, Administrative Tools and click HyperV Manager.
8. Under Virtual Machines, right click on the newly restored virtual machine, select [Setting].
9. Modify settings which may be conflicting with other existing virtual machines (e.g. network setting).
10. Start the virtual machine afterward.
Important: If the following error is displayed during the startup, please remove the Saved State of the corresponding VM.
In Hyper-V Manager, right click on the corresponding VM and select [Delete Saved State], start the VM again afterward.